prev next
Showing posts with label facebook. Show all posts
Showing posts with label facebook. Show all posts

What is Facebook build 141046?



I like many others today noticed a download in progress in my phones notification bar. I was immediately curious about the currently running download that I couldn't remember starting. Upon viewing the notification I became even more curious and a bit skeptical,  "Facebook (build 141046)"  This isn't the typical wording you'd see on a app update or download and lets not forget the previously mentioned but very important part about not starting this download! Automatic updates are turned off on all apps on my device and a quick check confirmed what I assumed, this wasn't an update from the Play Store.   So I did what most (I'd hope) would do and started doing a little searching.

I came a across a few threads on other Android sites and realized this was indeed something that others were seeing on several devices. Some users reported having noticed the download hanging in their notification area for hours and were seeking ways to clear the notification. A tip from some was to open download manger and 'Force  Stop'  the app.  This worked but the download would reappear later.  Turning on wifi seemingly allowed the download to complete and then you are given the option to install this new build.





As I said I'm a bit skeptic at this point, so I declined to install if it's an official update then fine I'll have a change to install later. Better safe than sorry.  But the real problem was the issue pictured above. Why would Facebook need to download files to or from my device without me knowing? After declining the install I a different notification about the downloaded update being ready to install started to appear.

I'm a little less inclined to think this is some form of malware and rather just a poorly instituted update from Facebook at this point. Facebook has a history of neglecting user privacy and settings when it rolls out updates. This download of which by the way seems to bypass user settings to only allow downloads while on wifi or to not allow auto updates to apps. But as I mentioned this isn't an update from the Play Store so it apparently doesn't have play nice with user settings. 

Basically this unprompted and self-downloading update, that didn't come from the Play Store, wants me to install it and give permission for future self installing updates that I won't know about.... I can't without any further info say that's it's malware but even if it's authentic I don't want it.
Related Posts with Thumbnails